Skip Navigation

WITF recognized with two honors at national Edward R. Murrow Awards

(New York) — WITF has been honored at the 2016 National Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala in New York City on October 10. Ben Allen and Joe Ulrich received National Murrows in the Hard News Feature and the Best Use of Sound categories.

WITF Is the only station to receive multiple honors in its class. It has now garnered 12 National Murrows since 2007, the most of any media organization in the state over that time spans.

Presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), the awards recognize the highest quality of journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world. RTDNA received more than 4,300 entries this year, culminating in just 103 national awards. WITF took home two of those awards.

“We are thrilled to be a part of a celebration of great journalism. In a time when our industry is undergoing great change, it was wonderful to be among colleagues who are producing such amazing work,” said WITF’s News Director Tim Lambert. “We are dedicated to providing the best public service possible. I’m very proud Ben and Joe for the work they have done and will continue to do.”

“WITF is committed to its mission to provide high quality, contextual journalism to the citizens of our region and beyond,” said CEO and President Kathleen Pavelko. “We thank everyone whose generous support of WITF makes our mission possible.”

The Stories 

 Allen chronicled the impact of the heroin epidemic in central Pennsylvania as part of the series, “Real Life

Support for WITF is provided by:

Become a WITF sponsor today »

Up Next
Regional & State News

16th Congressional District candidates square off in Lancaster County debate