Seven midstate counties removed from drought watch


(Harrisburg) — The state Department of Environmental Protection is removing seven midstate counties from drought watch status.

The DEP now says enough rain has fallen in Berks, Juniata, Mifflin, Northumberland, Schuylkill, Snyder and Union counties to justify the decision.

The department also lifted the watch for 30 other counties.

A drought watch comes with a voluntary five percent reduction in water use, and is the least-severe level of drought classifications.

Support for WITF is provided by:

Become a WITF sponsor today »

Up Next
Regional & State News

Group challenges egg facility planned expansion in Codorus Township