On-Air Highlights

John Sebastian Presents: Folk Rewind

Written by witf.org | Dec 6, 2011 6:07 PM

JOHN SEBASTIAN PRESENTS: FOLK REWIND focuses on the greatest singers and songwriters of the classic 1950s and 1960s folk era. Presented by the lead singer of The Lovin’ Spoonful (“Do You Believe In Magic”), FOLK REWIND features a treasure trove of historical footage that has not been seen in over four decades plus new performances by artists who are still appearing in concert today.

FOLK REWIND’s highlights include a Pete Seeger and Judy Collins duet on Seeger’s iconic adaptation of “Turn, Turn, Turn,” Harry Belafonte’s hit “Jamaica Farewell, Trini Lopez’s version of “If I Had a Hammer” and Bobby Darin’s heartfelt “Simple Song of Freedom.”

Among the beloved folk groups represented in vintage footage are The Kingston Trio (“Where Have All the Flowers Gone”), The New Christy Minstrels (“Green, Green”), The Limeliters (“There’s a Meeting Here Tonight”), The Serendipity Singers (“Crooked Little Man”) and The Brothers Four (“Green Fields”). In addition, The Highwaymen and The Rooftop Singers present their million-selling number one hits “Michael” and “Walk Right In.”

Stirring new performances on stage are offered by more folk legends. The original Chad Mitchell Trio reunite for Bob Dylan’s anthem “Blowin’ in the Wind” and Roger McGuinn of The Byrds offers an encore of “Turn, Turn, Turn.” Barry McGuire sings his 1965 chart-topper “The Eve of Destruction” and Jesse Colin Young of The Youngbloods performs the generation-defining hit “Get Together.”

FOLK REWIND features these memorable classics:

  • “Jamaica Farewell” - Harry Belafonte
  • “MTA” - Kingston Trio
  • “A Worried Man” - Kingston Trio “Where Have All The Flowers Gone?” - Kingston Trio
  • “There's A Meeting Here Tonight” - The Limeliters
  • “Michael” – The Highwaymen
  • “Don't Let The Rain Come Down” - Serendipity Singers
  • “Today” - New Christy Minstrels
  • “Green Fields” - The Brothers Four
  • “500 Miles To Go” - The Brothers Four
  • “A Simple Song Of Freedom” - Bobby Darin
  • “Walk Right In” - The Rooftop Singers
  • “Lemon Tree” - Peter, Paul and Mary
  • “If I Had A Hammer” - Trini Lopez
  • “Turn, Turn, Turn” - Pete Seeger & Judy Collins
  • “Mighty Day” - The Chad Mitchell Trio
  • “Blowin’ In The Wind” - The Chad Mitchell Trio
  • “Get Together” - Jesse Colin Young of the Youngbloods
  • “Eve Of Destruction” - Barry McGuire
  • “My Back Pages” - Roger McGuinn
  • “Turn, Turn, Turn” - Roger McGuinn


witf will air John Sebastian Presents: Folk Rewind as part of our TV pledge drive on December 7 at 8 p.m.

During the show, we'll be offering special Human Nature themed thank you gifts for your donation to witf. For your gift of $75, you'll receive the “My Music - FOLK REWIND Live!" CD. For your gift of $120, you'll receive the "John Sebastian presents: FOLK REWIND- My Music" DVD. For your gift of $150, you'll receive a 6-CD collection.For your gift of $250, you'll receive both the 6-CD collection and the DVD.

Contributing to witf helps everyone in your community benefit from award-winning news, programs and articles that open us up to exciting new ideas and worlds. Donate online now!

Published in On Air highlights

Tagged under

back to top