Murray takes Heisman

Written by The Associated Press | Dec 9, 2018 8:34 AM

Photo by (Todd J. Van Emst/Heisman Trophy Trust via AP, Pool)

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray speaks after winning the Heisman Trophy on Saturday, Dec. 8, 2018, in New York.

(New York) -- The Heisman Trophy belongs to an Oklahoma Sooners quarterback for the second straight year.

Kyler Murray edged out Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa for college footballs most prestigious individual honor.

The announcement comes three weeks before Murray and the Sooners take on Tagovailoa the Crimson Tide in the CFP semifinals.

Murray stepped into the starting job at Oklahoma held by last year's Heisman winner and first overall NFL draft pick, Baker Mayfield.

Murray has completed 71 percent of his passes for 40 touchdowns and just seven interceptions to guide the defensive-challenged Sooners to a 12-1 record.

Murray picked up 517 first-place votes and 2,167 points to end up with a fairly comfortable margin of 296 points over Tagovailoa.

Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins was a distant third with 783 points.

Oklahoma is the first school to have Heisman-winning quarterbacks in consecutive seasons and the fifth overall with winners in back-to-back years.

Published in News

Tagged under , ,

back to top