Hiking Around Midstate PA: A community blog

Explore hiking trails, environmental issues, recreational funding challenges and trail maintenance in Central Pennsylvania with Jim Foster.

Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame Induction to be Held at Banquet on June 8

Written by Jim Foster, Community blogger | Apr 23, 2012 4:05 PM

The second class of honorees will be inducted into the Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame on Friday, June 8, at the Second Annual Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame Banquet.  The banquet will once again be held at the historic Allenberry Resort in Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania.  2011’s Charter Class included six pioneers who brought the trail from an idea to completion and the first two to hike its 2,000 plus miles from Maine to Georgia in a single year.  The Charter Class included Myron Avery, Gene Espy, Ed Garvey, Benton MacKaye, Arthur Perkins and Earl Shaffer.  Five additional trail pioneers will be inducted as the 2012 class.

Inductees into the hall of fame include those who believed in the importance of the trail from its inception and then set out to prove that hiking from Maine to Georgia was not only possible, but enjoyable.  Hiking the trail’s 2,184 miles is itself a badge of honor.  Being inducted into the hall of fame is the ultimate recognition for an Appalachian Trail pioneer, maintainer or hiker.

Hall of Fame nominees include pioneers who conceived of and developed the trail; those who organized or directed major trail organizations like the Appalachian Trail Conservancy and the Appalachian Trail maintaining clubs; longtime trail maintainers; leaders who promoted and protected the Appalachian Trail; hikers who have made significant accomplishments, and other persons who have enriched the culture or community of the Appalachian Trail by their association with it.

Mark Wenger, new executive director of the Appalachian Trail Conservancy, will be the featured speaker at the June 8 event.  The conservancy works with federal, state and local agencies and Appalachian Trail maintaining clubs in the cooperative management of the trail. An avid hiker, Wenger has worked for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation and as a volunteer outdoors leader with the Boy Scouts and other groups.  Over an eight year period, he section hiked the entire Appalachian Trail.

A 6 p.m. reception will precede the dinner at 7 p.m. The cost of the reception and dinner is $30 for museum members and $40 for others.  Former Cumberland County Commissioner and avid outdoorsman Rick Rovegno will emcee, and reception music will be provided by the New South Mountain Ramblers.

Complete information on the Hall of Fame Banquet is available at this website:  http://atmbanquet2012.eventbrite.com/  Tickets may be purchased either at that website, or directly from the Museum by sending a check to:  
Appalachian Trail Museum
1120 Pine Grove Road
Gardners, PA  17324

Questions about the Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame Banquet may be sent to atmbanquet@gmail.com.

Allenberry has reserved a block of rooms for banquet attendees.  For more information on Allenberry and to reserve a room, call 1-800-430-5468 or (717) 258-3211, or go to http://www.allenberry.com/

Photo:  Appalachian Trail Museum, home of AT Hall of Fame

Published in Hiking Around Midstate PA and Beyond: A community blog

back to top

Post a comment

Give Now

Support for WITF is provided by:

Become a WITF sponsor today »

Support for WITF is provided by:

Become a WITF sponsor today »