Very Literary: A community blog

Small press book reviews and local author interviews

Very Twitterary

Written by Kari Larsen, Community blogger | Jul 31, 2012 1:05 AM

Organized vaguely by genre, this installment of Very Literary celebrates writers on Twitter. Inside 140 characters, one's Twitter is best suited as a point of departure for other sites where a more thorough demonstrations of one's talents can stretch and yawn and relax. But Twitter pulsates, and I am grateful to have become fans of certain writers from their tweets alone. By whatever means!

For the most part, this very small list excludes the Twitter accounts of presses and journals and focuses exclusively on the accounts of writers and editors who not only post links to their incredible work, but make Twitter itself worth dwelling on for socially unacceptable stretches of time.

POETS
Gabby Gabby @seemstween - "how much would i have to pay u ppl to get u to periodically tweet @ me good job. keep going."
Carina Finn @carinafinn - "I'm going to write a novella in which Martin Sheen runs for president with the caveat that Aaron Sorkin makes all of his decisions."
Rohin Guha @ohrohin - "Rohin "Based On An Idea By The Spice Girls" Guha"
Niina Pollari @heartbarf - "Rohin Guha is trying to tell me about Sailor Moon feminism."
Nalini Abhiraman @_nalini_- "comes a point during a move where putting on beyonce feels like a liturgical thing"

NONFICTION WRITERS /JOURNALISTS
Charlotte Shane @charlottenb - "It's unfair that I don't have a regular job and yet Mondays are still terrible."
Jane Hu @hujane - "I'm just a girl, sitting in front of a blog, asking it to love her."
Autumn Whitefield-Madrano @the_beheld - "Why are such a high percentage of trolls evo-psych enthusiasts?"
Lesley Kinzel @52stations - "IT HAPPENED TO ME: I GOT FAT-SHAMED BY MY XBOX."
Litsa Dremousis @litsadremousis - "Prime Ministers for Greece & Italy have resigned this month due, basically, to general lunacy. Hey, guys: PennState needs a new president."

PROSE WRITERS
Kate Zambreno @daughteroffury - "Up-and-coming novelist gets up-and-coming biographer to pen his Wikipedia page."
Roxane Gay @rgay - "My hairline screams, GRANDMOTHER."
Masha Tupitsyn @lifeasweshowit - "Ron Howard: "TV is becoming literature." Yikes."
Amelia Gray @grayamelia - "I need a Winn Dixie grocery bag full of girls becoming their mothers right now to the VIP section"
Kristine Ong Muslim @kristinemuslim - "The protag is a Kanye-like character. He's got flash and metallic jewelry. On Chapter 2, a giant magnet ensnares him."

EDITORS
Natalie Jacoby @nataliejacoby (who is no longer an editor, but still has my favorite Twitter) - "all i do at work i lisen 2 hiphop w mine earbuds & printout blank sheets of papey & look for college credit internships even tho i graduated"
Mairead Case @maireadcase - "in which idora park calls on the new york times to better represent trans people in its pages, kerpow kerpow"
Lauren Sphorer @lornasore - "The best part of that game Draw Something is watching people struggle to spell"
Sadie Stein @sadiestein - "Spinach gnocchi disaster last night. Green-flecked hilarity ensued! We laughed and laughed. Hahaha. Haha. Oh, and I was by myself."
Ann Friedman @annfriedman - "Journalists! The details of your incompetence DO interest me."

LOL
Indie Author Hulk @indieauthorhulk - "DEAR AGENT: THE MOST POPULAR TRENDS IN PUBLISHING TODAY ARE DYSTOPIAN YA NOVELS AND KINKY EROTICA. THE BOOK I'M SUBMITTING IS BOTH."
Joey Comeau @joeycomeau - "I hope I never get pregnant with spiders."

Published in Very Literary: A community blog

back to top

Post a comment

Support for witf is provided by:

Become a witf sponsor today »


RSVPA Calendar

Support for witf is provided by:

Become a witf sponsor today »