Press Releases

witf President and CEO Kathleen Pavelko to accept PSU Outstanding Alumni Award

Written by witf | Nov 1, 2013 2:13 PM

The Penn State University College of Communications will present witf President and CEO, Kathleen Pavelko, its Outstanding Alumni Award during an awards dinner on November 3 at the Nittany Lion Inn. The Outstanding Alumni Award is presented to a graduate of the College who has demonstrated excellence in the field of communications, contributed significantly to their profession and gained an exemplary reputation among colleagues and students within his or her community.

Pavelko earned a bachelor’s degree in history (1975) and a master’s degree in journalism (1979) from Penn State.

Since 1999, Pavelko has served as president/CEO of witf Public Media in Harrisburg. Under her leadership, witf’s total assets have quintupled and it has earned many journalism honors, including the DuPont-Columbia Silver Baton, which recognizes excellence in broadcast and digital news. Before joining witf, she served in production and management at Penn State Public Broadcasting, was executive producer for West Virginia Public Broadcasting and was president of Prairie Public Broadcasting, based in Fargo, N.D., where she created North Dakota Public Radio -- the state’s first statewide public radio network.

Pavelko has extensive experience in non-profit management and governance and has served on two statewide commissions, as well as several boards. She currently serves on boards for the Harrisburg Regional Chamber of Commerce and the Salvation Army.

Pavelko will also serve as a guest lecturer to a communications class on the Penn State campus on Monday morning, November 4.

The awards are sponsored by the 25-member Alumni Society Board of the College of Communications under the direction of the board's Awards Committee. Each year, the College of Communications and its Alumni Society Board honor alumni in a variety of categories.  Pavelko is among five honorees to be recognized for achievements and contributions to the college, the University and their professional fields. Other 2013 winners include: Gene Foreman, who serves as a visiting professor of journalism at the University (Communications Contributor Award); Chris Wheeler, the longest tenured member of the Philadelphia Phillies’ broadcast team (Alumni Achievement Award); the late Michael Chabot, a freelance sound editor and mixer (Emerging Professional Award); and Steve Kraycik, director of student television and online operations (Excellence in Teaching Award).

Tagged under

back to top