Press Releases

witf to honor Emeritus Board Members with private reception

Written by | Oct 18, 2011 6:56 PM

witf’s board has guided the organization through three different buildings, tens of millions of dollars in equipment investments, several financial crises, hundreds of regional and national awards for programming, dozens of important community initiatives—service to generations of children and families who have learned and laughed with us.

The following are some interesting and inspiring facts about the witf board:

  • From 1963 (when the organization was founded), until today, witf has benefited from the wisdom of 241 board members.
  • 10 board members have served 20 or more years.
  • Our longest serving board member was Oscar Lingle, a member of the founding board, who served from 1963 to 1986.
  • In 1995, the bylaws were changed to limit board service to three 3-year terms (9 years), with extensions permitted for persons who were board officers (chairs or vice chairs). Since then, Rich Bidgood is the longest serving board member, at 14 years.
  • As of today, 33 board members have been honored with the Emeritus designation…14 of them this year.
  • According to the board resolution creating the Emeritus Circle, “exemplary service to witf may be demonstrated in a variety of ways: committee leadership, leadership as an officer of the board, wise counsel on critical questions (financial or strategic), generous personal contributions or energetic solicitation of contributions. Emeritus members should have served a sufficient number of years for their impact to be felt on witf.”
  • In 48 years, there have been 21 board chairs and 5 presidents of witf.


The following is a list of members of the witf Emeritus Circle:

  • Marion C. Alexander
  • Mary-Linda Armacost
  • Max Banzhaf
  • Bruce Bartels
  • Richard Bidgood
  • M. Francis Coulson
  • D. Bruce Conner
  • Myrna Delgado
  • Erda G. Erdos
  • Owen Freeman
  • Arthur J. Glatfelter
  • Donald Goldstrom
  • Lois Lehrman Grass
  • Charles Grubmeyer
  • M. Thomas Grumbacher
  • Lois G. Haynes
  • Joanne Judge
  • Michael Kovach
  • G.Michael Leader
  • Oscar Lingle
  • Charles J. Long
  • Henry K. Long, Jr.
  • Charles Merrill
  • Anne Orban
  • Gilmore Seavers
  • Deidre Simmons
  • C. Mickey Skinner Keith Spalding
  • Elmer Stevens
  • Lawrence M. Thompson
  • Jane K. Williams
  • Thomas W. Wolf
  • Morton Zifferer


On October 18, witf will proudly honor its Emeritus Board members at a private reception. Please join us in congratulating and thanking our board members, past and present, in the comments below!

Published in Pressroom

back to top